Our Board of Directors and Staff


Larry T. Guzy, President General
4531 Paper Mill Road SE
Marietta, GA 30067
(770) 955-1303 (H)
(678) 860-4477 (cell)


* Joseph W. Dooley
(2017-2020-2nd term)
3105 Faber Drive
Falls Church, VA 22044


Michael J. Elston
(2015-2018 - 1st term)
16094 Olmstead Lane
Woodbridge, VA 22191
(703) 680-0866 (H)
(703) 915-9396 (cell)


Warren M. Alter, Secretary General
6743 E. Rosewood Place
Tucson, AZ 85710
(520) 886-1980 (H)
(520) 465-4015 (cell)


John T. Manning, Treasurer General
10 Old Colony Way
Scituate, MA 02066
(781) 378-1676


At-Large Members:

Rick D. Hollis
(2015-2018 - 1st term)
521 South First Street
Clarksville, TN 37040
(615) 812-2648 (cell)

* Stephen A. Leishman
(2016-2019-2nd term)
2603 Tonbridge Drive
Wilmington, DE 19810-1216
(302) 475-4841 (H)
(302) 530-1359 (cell)

John L. Dodd
(2016-2019 - 1st term)
17621 Irvine Blvd., Suite 200
Tustin, CA 92780
(714) 815-4426

Rt. Rev. Louis V. Carlson, Jr. OST
(2017-2020 - 1st term)
2628 Shadow Lane
Santa Ana, CA 92705-6980
(714) 997-4113

Non-Voting Invitees:

J. Michael Tomme,
President General 2016-2017
724 Nicklaus Drive
Melbourne, FL 32940
(321) 425-6797 (H)
(404) 312-9649 (cell)

Honorary Member:

Merry Ann T. Wright,
former President General, DAR
1001 Rosea Court
Leland, NC 28451-7440
(910) 399-1986

Executive Director:

Don Shaw, Executive Director NSSAR
809 West Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
(502) 589-1776 x 6128
(502) 589-1671 fax

Legal Advisor:

Davis L. Wright, Chancellor General
P.O. Box 8096
Wilmington, DE 19803
(302) 584-1686

Finance Support:

Mary Butts, Director of Finance
809 West Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
(502) 589-1776 x 6120
(502) 589-1671 fax

Administrative Office:

Sarah Strapp Dennison, Fund Raising Manager
The SAR Foundation
809 West Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
(502) 589-1776 x 1777
(502) 315-1777 (direct)


* Past PG's – at least 2, but no more than 3; immediate past PG can be elected as an at-large member, but shall not be entitled to vote.

** Except for President & V-President, individual members can serve no more than 3 consecutive terms.

Happy Anniversary!

The SAR commemorates the 225th Anniversary, of our First President. 

Washington Pin The first inauguration of George Washington as the first president of the United States took place on April 30, 1789.

The inauguration marked the commencement of the first four-year term of George Washington as president. Sworn in by Chancellor of New York Robert Livingston during this first presidential inauguration, Washington became the first president of the United States following the ratification of the Constitution.

The first presidential term started on March 4, 1789. Following the ratification of the Constitution by the required nine states, that date had been set by the Congress of the Confederation for the beginning of the operations of the new government under the Constitution of the United States. On that date, the House of Representatives and the Senate assembled, but both convened without a quorum. The House of Representatives first achieved a quorum on April 1, when it elected its officers. The Senate first achieved a quorum and elected its officers on April 6. Also on April 6 the House and Senate met in joint session, and the electoral votes were counted. Washington and Adams were respectively declared elected president and vice president, and the results of the count were subsequently published in the journals of Congress.

On April 30, 1789, the inaugural ceremony took place on the balcony of Federal Hall in New York City, then the first US Capitol and the first site where the 1st United States Congress met.

Since nearly first light a crowd of people had begun to gather around Washington's home, and at noon they made their way to Federal Hall by way of Queen Street and Great Dock (both now Pearl Street) and Broad Street. Washington dressed in an American-made dark brown suit with white silk stockings and silver shoe buckles; he also wore a steel-hilted sword.

Upon his arrival at Federal Hall, Washington was formally introduced to the House and Senate in the then Senate chamber, after which already sworn-in Vice President John Adams announced it time for the inauguration. Washington moved to the second-floor balcony where he took the presidential oath of office, administered by Chancellor of New York Robert Livingston in view of throngs of people gathered on the streets. The Bible used in the ceremony was from St. John's Masonic Lodge No.1, and due to haste, it was opened at random to Genesis 49:13. Livingston shouted "Long live George Washington, President of the United States!" to the crowd, which was replied to with cheers and a 13 gun salute. The first inaugural address was subsequently delivered by Washington in the Senate chamber running 1419 words in length.

At this time there were no inaugural balls for the day of the ceremony, though a week later on May 7 a ball was held in New York to honor the first president.

What can you do?

Book donations, family histories, planned giving, monetary donations, website sponsorships, you name it!

Learn about contribution opportunities.

Want to Learn more?

Get the latest SARF updates, be the first to learn about special events and more!


The SAR is a "lineage" society. This means that each member has traced their family tree back to a point of having an ancestor who supported the cause of American Independence during the years 1774-1783.